Hi, my name is ____, and I am ____.

Do you remember those days in school, at a new job, or at some social event which started with everyone taking turns introducing themselves? My name is Camilla (pronounced CAM-ul-uh) and I am a hopeless romantic, terminally curious, and an easily distracted thinker, creator, designer, listener, reader, student. That covers most of it anyway. I’ve spent most of my life trying to “find myself” through new careers, educational opportunities, community events, and popular hobbies, attempting to find an unequivocal fit with the things that interest me. I’ve performed on stage, washed dogs, typed memos, shown property, written articles, gone to college and to grad school for journalism, English, and psychology (not all at one time) but none of it stuck. Do you know the feeling?

How I got here is a long story. It started with a glorious case of random – just a day, just a book – but it reminded me about life. About living. About what good living is to me: savoring joyful simplicity. I hope to demonstrate that there is no need for long lists of ingredients, the best serving pieces (or even matching serving pieces), a huge grocery budget, or expensive gadgets in order to serve wonderful food to wonderful people. Work with what you have or what you can get or simply change the plan. One of the most satisfying things about cooking and entertaining is that nothing is set in stone. Strategies and recipes are malleable.

I promise to not post recipes I haven’t tried  (they are probably things I have tried, and tried, and tried), and I will include anything interesting, important, or surprising that might have happened. If I attempt the same recipe with different ingredients or methods, I will post those outcomes too. If I can think of shortcuts or ways to save money, my ideas are yours.

This is not a blog about budgets, economy, whole food, organic food, gluten-free food, vegetarian food, or diet food. There will be some recipes full of fat, some recipes full of vegetables, some with no gluten, and some recipes that call for vintage trendy items like raw milk and homegrown heirloom tomatoes. But use this little space as you will. Substitute. Change. Experiment. Lose yourself. Impress yourself. E-mail and comment with questions, challenges, and ideas.

To those who have never really cooked or entertained, or for those with rusty kitchen and hosting skills, I hope you find something useful in these simple fine things. You can eat well and feed plentifully using what you have or what you can affordably obtain (or save for without driving yourself nuts). We – you and I – have options, information resources, online marketplaces; and perhaps most happily, we have each other.

Until next time.

2 comments on “Hi, my name is ____, and I am ____.

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    There’s a British queen-in-waiting with the same name (but she pronounces it differently). I’m looking forward to trying out a few recipes with you !

  2. Camilla says:

    Ah, yes, Camilla of the Charles & Camilla fame. I wonder if she cooks. (I am keeping an eye on your blog — I love beets!)

Leave a Reply

